Top 10 Most Beautiful Flags in The World


National flags provide not only as a way of identity but also as a sign for a country’s history and standards. Even though flags initiated from a simple idea, today they symbolize much more than sheer signage. As populations grew and nations developed, flags became more than just a means of identification. They came to represent all that its people appreciated and fought for.

Flags are much more than beautification, serving to unite the people behind the symbol of a general identity, acting as a sign of the nation as represented to other nations. The flags of countries should be viewed with esteem and honor.

The colors and symbols on each flag are representations of the ideals of a country, shimmering the history and pride of its people. Flags are used to signify nations at international sports gatherings, global discussions and other international events. A flag represents not just the country but also its history and its future.

List of Top 10 Most Beautiful Flags in The World

#10. Brazil

Brazil flag
Brazil flag

The flag of Brazil was approved in the year 1889 in November. This was for days after the Annunciation of the Republic of Brazil. The colors talk more about Brazil. The green color is a symbol of the field off Brazil, and the yellow is a losang that symbolizes the wealth that is found in Brazil. The blue color is an indication of the sky that was on the November 1889’s at night. The star symbolizes that state of Brazil “Order and Progress” that is written on the flag. The flag was approved in November 1889 just after an announcement of Republic.

#9. Wales

Wales flag
Wales flag

The big dragon on the flag makes it one of the coolest flags in the world representing the country’s history and mythical stories that have origin from there.

The flag incorporates the red dragon of Cadwaladr, King of Gwynedd, along with the Tudor colours of green and white. It was used by Henry VII at the Battle of Bosworth in 1485, after which it was carried in state to St Paul’s Cathedral. The red dragon was then included as a supporter of the Tudor royal arms to signify their Welsh descent. It was officially recognised as the Welsh national flag in 1959.

#8. Japan

Japan flag
Japan flag

The national flag of Japan is a white rectangular flag with a large red disc representing the sun in the center.  This flag is officially called Nisshōki (“sun-mark flag”) in Japanese, but is more commonly known as Hinomaru (“circle of the sun”).

The Nisshōki flag is designated as the national flag in the Law Regarding the National Flag and National Anthem, which was promulgated and became effective on August 13, 1999.

#7. Philippines

Philippines flag
Philippines flag

The National Flag of the Philippines (Filipino: Pambansang Watawat ng Pilipinas), also called the Three Stars and a Sun (Tatlong Bituin at Isang Araw), is a horizontal flag bicolor with equal bands of royal blue and scarlet, and with a white, equilateral triangle at the hoist. In the center of the triangle is a golden-yellow sun with eight primary rays, each representing a Philippine province.

A unique feature of this flag is its ability to indicate a state of war if it is displayed with the red side on top.

#6. Mexico

Mexico flag
Mexican flag

The flag is a combination of three colors that are white, green and the red colors. The green color is the first color and the flag, white color at the middle and the red color at the end. At the middle where the white color there is a national court of arms with an eagle that holds a serpent at the edge of the beak. The talons of the eagle are on a cactus that is growing in the center of the lake.

#5. Australia

Australian flag
Australian flag

The flag of Australia is a defaced Blue Ensign: a blue field with the Union Jack in the canton (upper hoist quarter), and a large white seven-pointed star known as the Commonwealth Star in the lower hoist quarter. The fly contains a representation of the Southern Cross constellation, made up of five white stars – one small five-pointed star and four, larger, seven-pointed stars.

The flag’s original design (with a six-pointed Commonwealth Star) was chosen in 1901 from entries in a competition held following Federation, and was first flown in Melbourne on 3 September 1901, the date proclaimed as Australian National Flag Day. A slightly different design was approved by King Edward VII in 1903. The seven-pointed commonwealth star version was introduced by a proclamation dated 23 February 1908.

#4. United Kingdom

Union jack flag
Union jack flag

The national flag of the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland is the Union Jack, also called the “Union Flag”.

The current design of the Union Jack dates from the union of Ireland and Great Britain in 1801. It consists of the red cross of Saint George (patron saint of England), edged in white, superimposed on the Cross of St Patrick (patron saint of Ireland), which are superimposed on the Saltire of Saint Andrew (patron saint of Scotland). Wales, however, is not represented in the Union Flag by Wales’s patron saint, Saint David, as at the time the flag was designed Wales was part of the Kingdom of England.

#3. Canada

Canada flag
Canada flag

The flag of Canada, often referred to as the Canadian flag, or unofficially as the Maple Leaf and l’Unifolié (French for “the one-leafed”), is a national flag consisting of a red field with a white square at its centre in the ratio of 1:2:1, in the middle of which is featured a stylized, red, 11-pointed maple leaf charged in the center. It is the first ever specified by law for use as the country’s national flag.

In 1964, Prime Minister Lester B. Pearson formed a committee to resolve the ongoing issue of the lack of an official Canadian flag, sparking a serious debate about a flag change to replace the Union Flag.

#2. United State of America

USA Flag
USA Flag

The current design of the U.S. flag is its 27th; the design of the flag has been modified officially 26 times since 1777. The 48-star flag was in effect for 47 years until the 49-star version became official on July 4, 1959. The 50-star flag was ordered by former president Eisenhower on August 21, 1959, and was adopted in July 1960. It is the longest-used version of the U.S. flag and has been in use for over 56 years.

#1. India

India Flag
The Indian tricolour national flag is seen flying above the Mantralaya state secretariat building in Mumbai on September 27, 2012. AFP PHOTO/ INDRANIL MUKHERJEE (Photo credit should read INDRANIL MUKHERJEE/AFP/GettyImages)

The saffron colors represent renunciation or disinterestedness, the white means light, path to the truth and the green is the connection to the ground. The middle sign or “Ashoka Chakra” is the wheel of the law and dharma. Also the wheel means motion and movement is life.

The wheel on the flag is the wheel of law and dharma and symbolizes that life is still moving. The flag was accepted in the country in July 1947 and made in Khadi.

Like it? Share it 🙂